This page is no longer being maintained. Please visit our new site at

Ya no se mantiene esta página. Por favor visite nuestro nuevo sitio en

The Competencies

TAP 21-A combines the functional responsibilities and essential skills of the clinicalsupervisor into one document.  Its competency-based model provides a framework for understanding, learning, and implementing the various functions and tasks of clinical supervision.  In addition, it offers a standard for the field which agencies and supervisors can follow. 

TAP 21-A’s key competencies establish a professional standard by which clinical supervisors strive to master over time.  These competencies represent an array of knowledge and skills pertinent to the clinical, administrative, and evaluative responsibilities of a clinical supervisor. They are divided into two broad categories, five Foundation Areas and five Performance Domains.  Within each category, competencies are identified.5

The Clinical Supervision Competencies

  • Provide consistent, comprehensive supervisory training and development
  • Promote a common understanding of roles and responsibilities
  • Foster development of standards for the delivery of clinical supervision
  • Encourage the development of clinical supervision credentials
  • Raise questions for future study

Implementation Guidelines

The competencies outlined in TAP 21-A represent a comprehensive practice that, in reality, is still relatively rare in clinical settings today. For example, most agencies have clinical supervisors, but their work is typically limited to administrative and case management duties. Given these circumstances, Implementation Guidelines are also offered within TAP 21-A. These guidelines can help identify the tasks and process needed for transition. Click here for further details.


ATTC Network Home      Treatment & Help      The ATTC Hub        Contact Us      Site Map      Copyright Information      Join Our Email List
Site Developed by KC Web Programmers