Buprenorphine Treatment: Training for Multidisciplinary Addiction Professionals

Current Blending Initiative Projects

Responsive image

A national campaign to address the substance use treatment needs of adolescents.

Responsive image

Based on NIDA's publication: Principles of Adolescent Substance Use Disorder Treatment: A Research-Based Guide, this campaign will:

  • familiarize treatment providers with research study outcomes
  • provide strategies to incorporate those findings into practice
  • address the implications for treating adolescents

Through the use of a social media campaign, quarterly updates and webinars conducted by experts in the field, users will learn about a variety of topics including:

  • the developing brain
  • behavioral therapies proven effective for adolescents
  • treatment retention and cultural adaptions
  • the importance of testing for sexually transmitted infections

What's next?

Plan to attend the webinar The Value of Evidenced Based Screening, Assessment and Treatment for Adolescents with Substance Use Disorders
Wednesday, August 31, 2016
Noon ET, 11am CT, 10am MT, 9am PT

Click to register.

NIDA/SAMHSA-ATTC Adolescent Blending Team Members

  • Phillip Orrick, Chair - South Southwest ATTC
  • Jason Burrow-Sánchez, PhD - Central Rockies ATTC
  • Leslie Cohen, BS - New England ATTC
  • Marjean Searcy, SSW - Central Rockies ATTC
  • Pat Stilen, LCSW - Mid-America ATTC

Find out more about the NIDA/SAMHSA-ATTC Blending Initiative


NIDA Children & Teens Resources

Get the inside information on how different drugs can affect the brain and the body and what you can do to get involved. For more resources, see the NIDA for Teens web site.

Visit Site

Statistics

  • About 7-8% of adolescents in need of substance use treatment actually receive treatment (SAMHSA, 2010) and SAMHSA TEDS 2011.
  • Substance dependence for illicit drugs was higher in those aged 12-17 (1.8%) than individuals aged 26+ (1.4%) (Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality, 2015)
  • Alcohol, marijuana and tobacco are the top three substances used by adolescents (Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality, 2015)

Responsive image