Back to event listing
Counselor and Patient

Behavioral Health Activation for Diverse Individuals

11:30am - September 22, 2020 | Timezone: US/Central
Mid-America ATTC
Registration Deadline:
Need more information?
Contact us at sherryb@umkc.edu

3 CONSECUTIVE TUESDAYS: September 15th, 22nd, 29th, 2020

Looking to expand your skills in working with clients who struggle with depression? This training teaches professionals a new clinical method to strengthen clients' self-efficacy during challenging times while developing their sense of pride. This training is intended for current therapists in the mental health, substance use disorder, or recovery field.

 

FORMAT:

Total of three, two-hour Zoom sessions (lecture, activities, and Q&A) over the course of three weeks. Each session builds upon the other, therefore attendees need to register and attend all three sessions to complete the series. Click on the session dates below to register.

 

Session 1, Foundations: September 15

 

Objectives: Participants will be able to

 

  • Describe the definition of Behavioral Activation (BA)
  • List the 10 Core Principals
  • Recognize values unique to clients

 

Session 2, Framework: September 22

 

Objectives: Participants will be able to:

 

  • Describe 3 qualities and style of a BA therapist
  • Asses clients' values
  • Assess for function of a behavior
  • Breakdown behaviors into components
  • Understand the difference between mastery activities and pleasurable activities

 

Session 3, Outcomes: September 29

 

Objectives: Participants will be able to

 

  • Understand how to counter avoidance
  • Describe how to troubleshoot in sessions
  • Summarize the structure of a session
  • Implement BA to enhance their practice

 

TIMES:

12:30pm - 2:30pm Eastern | 11:30am - 1:30pm Central | 10:30am - 12:30pm Mountain | 9:30am - 11:30am Pacific

 

MID-AMERICA ATTC PRESENTERS:

Lara Ashbaugh, MS, LPC, NCC, has worked in the field of community mental health for over 15 years.  In that time she has worked in a crisis stabilization unit, residential facilities, outpatient case management and an outpatient counseling center.  She currently provides clinical and administrative trainings as well as supervision Truman Medical Behavioral Health. 

 

Alex Barajas‐Muñoz has a PhD in Counseling Psychology, a Master’s Degree in Counseling and Guidance, and a Master’s Degree in Neurosciences. Dr. Barajas is currently employed as a staff psychologist at the University of Kansas (KU) Counseling and Psychological Services (CAPS) and also serves as adjunct professor at the Counseling Psychology doctoral program at UMKC. He worked for over ten years as a Research Associate, Evaluator and Trainer with Mid‐America Addiction Technology Transfer Center at UMKC.

 

 

Mid-America ATTC Logo