Behavioral Health and Essential Substance Abuse Skills Webinar Series

Behavioral Health and Essential Substance Abuse Skills Webinar Series

We host two monthly webinars featuring topics of interest to American Indian and Alaska Native behavioral healthcare professionals:

 

Essential Substance Abuse Skills: A Guide for Professionals is a series which gives an overview of the curriculum founded on SAMHSA's TAP 21: Addiction Counseling Competencies, and bridges the NIDA Principles of Effective Drug Treatment. This series has been culturally adapted to inform those working the Native clients, and is typically offered on the second Wednesday of each month at 1 pm Eastern, 12 pm Central, 11 am Mountain, 10 am Pacific, and 9 am Alaska time. Please see registration information below for each session. An archive of previous sessions is available on our YouTube channel.

 

American Indian & Alaska Native Behavioral Health series invites experts in the field to present culturally-informed, evidence and experience-based information and practices on behavioral health issues in Indian Country. This series is typically offered on the fourth Wednesday of each month at 1 pm Eastern, 12 pm Central, 11 am Mountain, 10 am Pacific, and 9 am Alaska time. Please see registration information below for each session. An archive of previous sessions is available on our YouTube Channel.

 

Both webinar series are free to attend, but require advance registration. Continuing education hours are available upon request using this form for a fee.

 

2019 webinars:

jan 09
   ESAS: Treatment Knowledge

   Sean Bear 1st BA, CADC, Meskwaki Tribal Nation
   View the recording of this presentation. 

 

jan 09
   ESAS: Professional and Ethical Responsibilities

   Robert Rohret, MPH
   View the recording of this presentation. 

 

2 27 72
   Behavioral Health: Vicarious Trauma: Self Care for Native American Behavioral Health Providers

   Avis Garcia, PhD
   View the recording of this presentation. View the handouts.

 

03 20 72
   Behavioral Health: Traditional Treatment: Concepts, Competencies and Diversity

   Durand Bear Medicine, Leadership Academy Graduate
   View the recording of this presentation.

 

Apr 17 120
   ESAS: Basic Counseling Skills

   Steven G. Steine, MA, CADC
   View the recording of this presentation.

 

May 1 72
   ESAS: Counseling Families, Partners, and Significant Others

   Steven G. Steine, MA, CADC
   View the recording of this presentation.

 

05 22 72
   Native Women with Substance Use Disorders are Different

   Anne Helene Skinstad, PhD; and Dara Jefferson, MA
   View the recording of this presentation. View the handouts.

 

Jun 5 72
   ESAS: Professional Readiness: Attitudes and Values

   Matt Ignacio, MSSW, Tohono O’odham
   View the recording of this presentation. View the handouts.

 

06 19 72
   Culturally Adapted Clinical Supervision

   Sean A. Bear I, BA, CADC, Meskwaki; and Robert Rohret, MPH
   View the recording of this presentation. View the handouts.

 

07-03 72
   ESAS: Client, Family, and Community Education

   Matt Ignacio, MSSW, Tohono O’odham
   View the recording of this presentation. View the handouts.

 

07 17 72
   Mental and Behavioral Health Considerations for Native Transgender Individuals

   Michaela Gray, MPH, Diné
   View the recording of this presentation. View the handouts.

 

8 14 72
   ESAS: Group Counseling

   Matt Ignacio, MSSW, Tohono O’odham
   View the recording of this presentation. View the handouts.

 

sep 4 72
   ESAS: The Science of Addiction: The Brain on Adolescence

   Ken Winters, PhD
   View the recording of this presentation. View the handouts.

 

oct 2 72
   ESAS: Clinical Evaluation: Screening

   Steven Steine, MA, CADC
   Register.

 

nov 6 72
   ESAS: Clinical Evaluation: Assessment

   Steven Steine, MA, CADC
   Register.

 

dec 4 72
   ESAS: Clinical Evaluation: Treatment Planning

   Steven Steine, MA, CADC
   Register.