Back

Meth as a Driver of the HIV Epidemic Webinar

9:00am - September 30, 2021 thru 10:00am - September 30, 2021 | Timezone: US/Pacific
Pacific Southwest ATTC
Registration Deadline: September 27, 2021
 

https://m.gr-cdn-8.com/getresponse-a08/photos/dfcc0ea5-426f-45b4-8b99-3a649ba43a67.png?img1630597551803

 
 
 

Meth as a Driver of the HIV Epidemic 

Webinar 

Thursday, September 30th, 2021

9 - 10 AM PST | 10 - 11 AM MST | 11 - 12 PM CST | 12 - 1 PM EST

Methamphetamine is a key driver of the HIV epidemic in jurisdictions nationwide. HIV prevention and treatment, both key efforts in the EHE strategy are negatively affected by the meth crisis.


Presenters will review the epidemiology of the Methamphetamine epidemic as it relates to HIV, including biological changes that affect brain function, the psychodynamics of meth use and the implications for EHE efforts.

The webinar seeks to dispel the myth that very little can be done to engage and treat meth users to achieve positive outcomes. The presenters will share examples of evidence-based and evidence-informed interventions that can assist users to achieve better HIV and health outcomes, with a focus on contingency management (CM).

Participants are encouraged to view TAP-in’s previous webinar: 

Addressing Substance Use Disorders as a Strategy to End the HIV Epidemic

That webinar can be found at: https://targethiv.org/library/tap-in-addressing-substance-use-disorders-suds-strategy-end-hiv-epidemic

 

 

SPEAKERS

Moderator

Tom Donohoe

Professor of Family Medicine, David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA 

TA Provider, TAP-in and PAETC-Los Angeles Area

 

Panelists

Beth A. Rutkowski, MPH

Director of Training & Epidemiologist

UCLA Integrated Substance Abuse Programs

Co-Director, Pacific Southwest Addiction Technology Transfer Center (HHS Region 9) 
 

Jessica L. Montoya, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Psychiatry

San Diego Center for AIDS Research (CFAR)

Psychologist, Owen Clinic

UC San Diego

 

Max Sepulveda, MBA

Managing Director, Harm Reduction Services

Housing Works – PHP & MHRP

 

William Murphy

Project Director of TAP-in

 

 

 

To learn more about TAP-in or to access any other TAP-in webinar recordings, please visit https://targethiv.org/ta-org/tap-in

 

https://m.gr-cdn-8.com/getresponse-a08/photos/0c4526d1-11c1-4474-b9df-11559715b5ad.png?img1630597551803